Everyone’s got a Fortress

5 06 2011

Growing up I had a deep and abiding desire to be Superman. Not because of the flying or the super strength or even the excellent hair (though it IS excellent) but rather because he had a super cool second home. That’s right- I was jealous of the Fortress of Solitude. In the interest of full disclosure I will admit that I still am completely jealous of the caped-man’s ice palace.

It’s been an interesting month. Begun with great disappointment, filled with work of various kinds, and replete with new and happy experiences. You can imagine the appeal of a far-removed and silent room. The older I get, though, the more I am able to remember that everyone who knows the Lord HAS a fortress of solitude. It’s an interior castle and easily accessed.

In other news the latest show at the Theatre has been more enjoyable than I anticipated. I’ve found some really good sorts among the cast and enjoy my nightly talks with various people. I’ve learned a few things about kung fu movies and horrified everyone with my karate bruises. Today I had to have one of my old buddies smell-check my hair. (The guy behind the theatre has a smoker and when I went outside to do the recycling I came in smelling of woodsmoke and bacon. Luckily we determined that as long as no-one smelt my hair I’d be ok).

It’s hard for me to find  the right blog topics. When things are going well I haven’t the time to write and when things are hard I am wary of “spilling my guts” all over the internet. Especially when the people who read this would gain little from full disclosure.

Suffice it to say that work is an emotional challenge, karate is continuously awesome and JCS is a twice-weekly ego boost.

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 06 2011
Robin

I always enjoy your writing. Do try to write something during your travels. : )

19 06 2011
Michael Carr

Nice post, I mean ice castles, interior life, KARATE. Yes and Yes.

19 06 2011
jgavinallan

I love your attitude. Please do write of your travels.
Jaye

Leave a Reply

