24

10 04 2011

The number of hours in one Terran day.

That one show I can’t watch because they never stop yelling and almost-dying and jumping off of things.

My new approximate age. Really I think it’s more like 24 years, 3 days and 34 minutes as I write this post.

I had a lovely birthday. Probably the best one in years. (Even if Jennifer was not able to swing it so that people at work sang to me.) Instead I got serenaded with my favorite song by my wonderful friends Lynn and Carina. If you’ve never heard Lynn and Carina sing Steve Miller Band’s “Dance Dance Dance” you have not yet lived.

Mom and Dad bought me a gorgeous dress from Anthropologie and my grandparents bought me another fun dress and the happiest green shirt I have ever seen. I went out to lunch with my extended family (except my little bro who got deserted in a lab at Microsoft and so was not able to come). My best friend sang me happy birthday in Dutch, my Jewish mom gave me some gorgeous bracelets and a chocolate and I finished the day eating Cheetos and chatting on facebook.

Aren’t you all glad that my tendency to stretch the bounds of the English language has not been affected by the aging process?

Since my birthday I have spent the majority of my time at work. This has been glorious for two reasons. First, I’m House Managing which is infinitely more entertaining than Lobby Attending and second, two words- tap dancing. For the last two days I’ve been foot-serenaded with tap dancing.

Glory.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m b.e.a.t. For an introvert to spend most of every day interacting with people is intense, to say the least. I woke up this morning with a pounding headache and the deep desire to cry. Not for any particular reason, at least nothing that can be shared via the internet, but just because I’ve been “on” for three days straight. I’m looking forward to tomorrow because I will be able to go to karate and beat something up. If there’s no beating things up then there will AT LEAST be sweat. And, as we all know “the cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears or the sea”.

I’m liking 24 so far. There has been a definite shift in the “Hi I’m Meghan and I’m invisible” trend that I’ve been living with for the last four or five years. I feel a little as though someone has handed me a puppy, a lion, three oranges and a kite and said “juggle these and whistle while you do it”. It’s really a foreign world I’ve fallen into and I’m doing my damnedest to handle it all with grace and without selfishness. (It’s harder than you’d think to be unselfish with other people’s hearts).

24 is going to be fun.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 04 2011
MeghanM

I like. Happy 24, dear!

4 05 2011
Aberg

Yay for 24!

(the age … and the show, a little bit.)

Leave a Reply

