A Frustrated Creative Force

2 02 2010

There are creative people in the world who’s creativity flows smoothly along well-ordered paths. They are the irrigation-system types, the people who have put serious time and energy into creating structure for their creativity to operate in. The great benefit of being an irrigation artist is that you KNOW that your creative pursuits are being amply watered.

I am not one of those types.

But never doubt me! I’m not knocking the structure of people who have schedules- who paint from 7am-noon then break for lunch after which they work on accumulating references and knowledge until dinner when they go back to painting until bedtime. These people are my heroes. Seriously. I would sew them all multi-coloured capes with my own ivory fingers if I could find these artists.

I aspire to being scheduled. I think it’s the best way to avert frustration and speed learning. You don’t grow in any skill unless you are consistent in doing it.

Frustration dies quickly in well-ordered environments, at least in my own life.

In other thoughts… I’ve got an amazing idea for a story or film. It’s greatest recommendation is that it’s a sci-fi movie with little to no special effects. You’d just need a tank of water and some waterproof prosthetics/makeup. My problem is that I feel like I “tell” instead of “show” when I write. It’s annoying and I’m not sure how to remedy it. Maybe I should ask NinjaEditor….

Also, I am taking piano lessons and LOVING it!

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 02 2010
Jennifer James

I am going to have a painting area (I hesitate to call a basement a studio) in the basement at the new house! At least, I hope I am. It’s too hard to paint, then pack everything up. Maybe I’ll gate off the dining room and set up a studio in there?

4 02 2010
NinjaEditor

I don’t do well with schedules. I find them more of a hindrance than a help most of the time. But it’s hard to consciously be open to the flow of creativity when I haven’t chained myself to the computer to write. What can I say, I’m easily distracted.

P.S. If you’d like, shoot me a few examples of passages where you feel like you’re telling instead of showing and I’ll give you some feedback. Hit me up at theninjaeditor at gmail dot com.

4 02 2010
Jennifer James

Jenn is a fantastic editor Megs. She actually gets paid to tell people where to put hyphens and how to spell and junk like that. She’s awesome.

4 02 2010
NinjaEditor

I rarely get to work with fiction writers, much less science fiction writers—or with people who can actually write, for that matter—so it’d be a pleasure to talk about the craft!

(Jennifer, I’m still laughing about the typo you showed me last week.)

Leave a Reply

