Allergen Free and…loving it?

12 08 2009

I”ve come back from my ten days of almost technology-free bliss. (I kept my cell phone handy). I came home to 39 e-mails (only two of which were important), clean sheets and a deep desire to crawl into a hole and never come out again. I like peace. I like really slow living where the biggest event of the day is taking a 15-minute trip to the grocery store. I like not having to check my e-mail, answer my phone or think of how I’m going to pack for The Big Move. 

But now reality has returned. With a big family celebration because my sister is once again pregnant! This I am very excited about. My best friend Stacie informed me that not only do I get a new niece/nephew, but my sister is possibly growing me a tiny flower girl. (A job I had delegated to Stacie and her husband Joe.) Not that there is any particular indication that I will be needing a flower girl any time soon, but that’s Stacie for you. She’ll squeeze joy out of a rock.

Yesterday I took myself to the movies as a special treat. It was either that or spend $130 on getting my hair done. The hair was relegated to the dark beyond of Next Week. Next Week is also when I will, get a credit card, beg BAM for a box for my keyboard, start my figure drawing class, buy my plane tickets, take up kickboxing and re-enter the wonderful world of ballet. Yeah. That. 

Point being, I saw Julie/Julia and LOVED IT. I sat in a huge theatre full of little old ladies and we all scoffed at the 2012 trailer (which I secretly want to see). We laughed, we cried. Well, I cried. I ate apple slices because there is nothing sold at a movie theatre that I can eat these days. 

And that, of course, brings us to my new eating style. Starting yesterday and stretching into the foreseeable future I have eliminated eggs, soy, dairy, wheat and nuts from my diet. Basically I eat vegetables, fruit and meat. I don’t seem to be craving anything, though that might be because for the last 48 hours my head has not been properly attached to my body. Blame it on lack of calories, more specifically carbs (according to my friend Michael- He Who Knows Many Things). 

Today I have a deep desire for a really excellent pair of men’s flannel pajama pants.

In other news, I am still selling paintings to my friends in the Seattle area who might be interested. Commissioned works for one and all! Prices negotiable! Come one, come all!

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 08 2009
Jennifer James

Can you tell me what allergic reaction you’re trying to eliminate by eating this way?

15 08 2009
granny the great

I’d love to commission you to paint something for my bedroom wall- but first I have to decide what color to paint it!! (the wall)

16 08 2009
Meghan

I’m trying to figure out what makes my skin break out. One week in and I’m starting to think that it might be refined sugar. (The only thing I haven’t given up.)

Granny- Let me know!

Leave a Reply

