Prophet of Beauty

23 03 2009

I read this article on exoduscry.com and it speaks to the cry of my heart, especially now as I approach our first event. I am reminded of why I am on this trip; why I am on the planet.

“To be a prophet of beauty is first and foremost to see beauty. I am not called to be fascinated by darkness – I am called to overcome it. I am not called to exploit this world – I am called to save it. A prophet of beauty sees the light in the midst of darkness and dares to trust that that light is true and speaks greater volumes than the darkness that surrounds it. A prophet of beauty moves from suspicion, despair, and “realism,” to faith, hope, and love. They move, with the courage of the crucified Lord of Beauty, from observation and speculation to intercession and restoration. There are many prophets of doom, but few prophets of beauty. Moses asked God to show him His glory. The Lord then made His goodness pass before him. David said he would have lost heart had he not believed he would see “the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living” (Ps. 27:13). I am asking God to show me His beauty in all of its manifestations. I want to be one who is sustained not by self-righteous zeal and heroism but a fascination with the beauty of God. I want to see beyond the mourning to the dancing, beyond the sorrow to the joy, beyond the ashes to the beauty. “Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us!” (Ps. 90:17)” -Benji Nolot

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 03 2009
Mother Smith

I think this is truly who you are…a prophet of beauty….

24 03 2009
Father Smith

And I agree with your Mother! Have a wonderful day my dear!

24 03 2009
The Other Mother

This is awesome and so true! I am missing you greatly and thinking of you often…..

25 03 2009
granny the great

And all of this feeds my quest for the messaage I am to bring to 600 ladies in canada! Love it!

Leave a Reply

