Ode To Michael on the Anniversary of His Birth

19 03 2009

I should warn you all right off the front end that this isn’t really an ode. I don’t actually know how to write an ode, or a sonnet, or indeed anything except ababab rhyming poetry. Also I can write limericks… Hold on while I try and write a Michael Carr Limerick

There once was a man named Carr
Who had the best teeth by far
He flossed them real good
The way that he should
So they’re healthy and don’t look like tar

That’s not so bad for midnight and headachy!

The whole point of this is that today was (and is for another 25 minutes) Michael’s 21st birthday. Today we ran many errands, cooked good food, gave him presents and went for a late-night walk on the beach. During the beach walking, while Andrea, Jadon and Kevin looked on, Michael challenged me to a race. I let him win ’cause it’s his birthday. (Also because I ate a big dinner and my lower intestines were contorting in protest of vigorous exercise so soon after a meal.) Point being, I lost.

There was tea-drinking and sun-enjoying and many other pleasant things that were enjoyed by one and all. A “golden day”, as Michael would say.

I’ve a little headache just now but it’s just tiredness and a wee bit of dehydration.  This afternoon I was so tired that I sat down to journal and fell asleep for 45 minutes. Luckily I fell asleep in such a way that my [soaking wet] hair actually looked good when I woke up.  Now I’m downing water like it’s free and praying that good sleep will cure the rest of my headache.

Blessings be unto you all! My heart is filled with joy on this good day and I am thankful for the many blessings that my Good Lord has showered upon me. May the same be to all you who read this today. Tomorrow night we have a worship service/prayer meeting at which I will be painting the first of my paintings on this trip. Expect an update soon!

Actions

Information

8 responses

19 03 2009
granny the great

Meghan– it will be so nice to keep up with y’all! Between you and Michael, we should get complementary blogging– you’ll fill in the cracks for each other. have FUN!

20 03 2009
Meghan

Will do granny! I’ll update as often as I can. Missing your face!

20 03 2009
Aaron James

I miss you sister. I’m missing you A LOT.

“I’m here to keep my eye on her…”

20 03 2009
Aaron James

oops that was Jennifer. durrrr..

20 03 2009
Mother Smith

Me too!!!!!!!!!!

20 03 2009
Jennifer James

I got Cyrano De bergerac today. Also thank you for the sharpener! Now I feel as if I am sharpening in style. You’re great! I love you so…. call me soon.

21 03 2009
michael

Thanks so much for this none-ode!

21 03 2009
granny the great

Maybe she could write something ‘oder’ I know. I can hear all my relatives groaning.

Leave a Reply

