Someone Please Explain to me

7 03 2009

why I hate EVERY wedding dress I see.

Seriously.

But let me throw in there the fact that I love my friend’s wedding dresses on them. I only hate dresses when I think of myself in them.

It’s like our entire society is buying into some “keep up with the Joneses”/ “Princess” mindset that feels totally false. To me, every white dress looks like every other white dress. It’s all variations on a super boring theme.

You can all throw this up in my face if I end up getting married in white.

Actions

Information

8 responses

7 03 2009
Jennifer James

I have always pictured you in a white dress, but a creamy colored white, not a bright one, with forest green embroidery.

And when you “go away” (leave the reception) I have always pictured you in one of those neat hats with the net veil that just covers your eyes and nose. I’ll try and find a picture… ok kinda like this:

7 03 2009
Shelley

I think most wedding dresses suck too. I am so excited to see what you walk down the aisle – I’m sure you will be positively stunning!

7 03 2009
Meghan

Jen- Oh I really like that. I think I can promise you the hat, if not the exact dress colour. I want to leave in a high-waisted forties-era outfit for sure, so the hat would match perfectly.

Shelley- Oh thank goodness you agree! I can’t wait to get married if only to HANG OUT WITH YOU! Seriously. You would love Seattle. Maybe we can manage to get you and your hubby out here early enough to enjoy the sights. If you’re gonna come this far you should go sightseeing for sure.

7 03 2009
granny the great

And when is this event?

8 03 2009
Jennifer James

yeah word! When is it? Also, what shall I wear?

8 03 2009
Meghan

Umm… after God lifts the veil and boys can see me again? After someone gets up enough guts to ask me out? After I get that pretty sapphire and diamond ring? After I get enough good dates to make up for my lack of dates up until now?

And you’re gonna wear whatever I tell you to! Oh the secret vengeance of the perpetual bridesmaid! (Um… I love[d] being a bridesmaid and didn’t actually HATE anything I had to wear.)

11 03 2009
granny the great

We’ll wait

11 03 2009
Meghan

Thanks Granny. Though, I guess we don’t have much of a choice…

Leave a Reply

