Something’s coming…

5 01 2009

You all know that I think in song lyrics. Lately it seems to be an increasingly prevalent thing. I can’t hear any comment or think of any memory without some song lyric jumping to mind. So now I offer you some of the songs that are uppermost in my brain these days.

Who knows?
It’s only just out of reach,
Down the block, on a beach,
Under a tree.
I got a feeling there’s a miracle due,
Gonna come true,
Coming to me!

Could it be? Yes, it could.
Something’s coming, something good,
If I can wait!
Something’s coming, I don’t know what it is,
But it is
Gonna be great!
-“Something’s Coming”, West Side Story
(For the moment we’ll ignore the fact that the singer of this song dies tragically not long after he experiences that “Something”.)

There’s been a change in me
A kind of moving on
Though what I used to be
I still depend on
For now I realize
That good can come from bad
That may not make me wise
But oh it makes me glad

And I– I never thought I’d leave behind
My childhood dreams
But I don’t mind
For now I love the world I see
– “A Change in Me”, Beauty and the Beast

May our mountains ever be
Freedom’s ramparts on the sea,
Make us faithful unto Thee,
God defend our Free Land.
Guide her in the nations’ van,
Preaching love and truth to man,
Working out Thy Glorious plan,
God defend New Zealand.
-The last verse of “At Thy Feet”, NZ’s national anthem

So there you go. I’m impatient for the next greatest thing while trying to grasp the concept of “living in the now because it’s all we’ve got”. I recognize everything that the Lord has done and is doing and I am grateful. Most of all, though, I’m ready to go home. Especially if I can take my folks with me!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

