Reflections on Solitude

1 12 2008

I have a theory. My theory is that a lot of young people never actually get to know themselves. Seriously.

Teenagers are incredibly self-centered, but not often in a constructive way. Mainly they are conscious of self only as far as they need to be in order to not stand out. Most people between the ages of 13 and 20 are convinced that everyone in a room is staring at/judging them. This is slightly humorous since every one of their peers is thinking the same thing.

That self-centerdness combined with raging hormones means that most young people attach themselves to one or more other people. These other people take up so much of their time and energy and become so important that they are the primary concern. That means that the young person misses getting the chance to really meet themselves.

This is true, I think, even of single people. Instead of a person or a group of friends taking up their time, they are obsessed with the possibility of love and friendship.

I have had an unusual experience this past year in that I have had an opportunity to really meet myself and to meet the Lord as well. You see, I can tell the bits of me that are found in Him and the bits of me that are completely of this world. My talents-> from God. My grumpiness-> The world. My desire to sleep as much as possible-> The Jury is still out on that one.

But honestly… being single and isolated from almost all of my friends has made me really aware of who I am. Me, completely absent any outside influence. It’s been fun for this “people pleaser” to live with almost no-one who I feel that I need to please.

That’s fairly vague and jumbled but I hope I get the point across. It’s one of the perks to a fairly difficult time in my life. Oh yeah, did I mention? Meeting yourself because you are the only one around IS HARD!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 12 2008
Mother Smith

You are very wise dear daughter. There are a lot of people who don’t “know themselves” even at 80.
Mum

10 12 2008
fallingfromthesky

I all ways thought it might be cool to run away to some cave on a hill top and live completely alone, just me and God. Seeing how I live in KC I don’t think I’ll find any good running away hills or caves.

Leave a Reply

