Off to the Middle of the West

4 09 2008

I’m heading out tomorrow to visit my brother-in-law and [pregnant] sister. The secondary purpose being to sit in the prayer room until an angel shows up, stops the meeting and tells me what I’m supposed to be doing with my life. 

I like Kansas City more than I ever expected to. They have good shopping, very little traffic and some people that I love a whole lot. I can’t imagine living there myself; I couldn’t handle being that far away from the ocean and four MORE hours away from NZ.

The fun part of all of this is that I just got back from a trip to Spokane about, um, seven hours ago. I haven’t been to the gym in a week, I ate WAY too many oreos and I have to unpack one set of luggage and repack another. On top of that is my cat. Literally. She is laying across both of my arms right now seriously restricting my typing.

I saw a movie called Frequency last night. It was great up until the last half an hour. That last thirty minutes gave me nightmares. On the upside I saw a wonderful flick called Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day. I wouldn’t recommend it for everyone, but it’s a good chick flick.  The end is really sweet and this week’s Quote of the Week is from it. Another movie in the long list was Definitly Maybe which was so horrible that I almost can’t describe it. Erin and I read through most of it.

Speaking of which, Erin has just finished a series of books and recomended them so strongly to me that I read the entire first book in the two days that I was with her. You may have heard of them, or at least the movie adaptation of the first one- they are the Twilight books. The basic plot is a young girl falls in love with a perpetually 17-year-old vampire.

Yeah. I know.

And actually, I detest vampire novels. I really do. They are so filled with sex and gore that it’s nauseating. (I think I’ve read a grand total of ONE vampire book before this week and I physically threw it across the room after 50 pages.)

And I’m not without objections to these books. The main character seems a little obsessive and whenever you are dealing with fantasy books things can get a bit dodgy morals-wise. However, the first book was incredibly clean. I was amazed. There are a few kisses but no gore and no blood-sucking. Plus, the way that the author has approached the vampire myth is very original. Beyond that, they are really good reads. The aforementioned vampire evinces a kind of selfless love that is wholly admirable.

Again, I’m not recomending them for everyone. If you don’t like Sci-Fi/Fantasy or you get easily bored with descriptions of the Washington Peninsula you shouldn’t read them. If you object that their author is mormon or think that reading it will make your kids start chewing on their friends, don’t let them read the books. But I was entertained and will probably buy the second one to read on the plane tomorrow.

What else is new?

I’m still hoping that someone will show up at my doorstep and whisk me away to Hollywood/NZ to make movies. That’s not new, though. That’s status quo.

Enjoy your week. I’ll be home from KC on Friday.

Tootles.

Actions

Information

One response

5 09 2008
Jennifer James

We do have good shopping here! I haven’t been to a mall in about 3 months, so I am VERY excited to shop.

Also- I think alot of little kids chew on their friends anyways. Kids are kinda weird like that…

Leave a Reply

