Life, as it turns out…

30 06 2008

…is one endless set up.

And I’m ok with that.

Hi, my name is Meghan Smith and I’ve been an addict for two months. I freely admit that I turn on the TV at random hours of the day in the hopes that Jon and Kate plus eight will be on. In the past 24 hours I’m two for two. It is by far my favorite thing to watch. I like watching the sextuplets. I like the racks and racks of tiny shoes. Jon and Kate crack me up. Yes, I am most definetly an addict.

In other news, Mom and I drove down to south western Oregon yesterday to visit the University of Oregon. It’s about a six hour drive down there, which isn’t too bad by road tripping standards. The only real drawbacks were the high temperatures and humidity. Every time we turned on the AC something in my brain went “INEFFICIENT USE OF FUEL!!!” It was kind of like having Al Gore sitting on my head with a tazor. Not comfortable.

Anyway, we got there and found someplace to park, got out and were assailed by the large groups of humanity strolling around. Did I mention that the Olympic trials are at U of O this week? Good times. So we walked around campus, tried to read the campus maps and ended up in a graveyard. No kidding. For those of you who have read ‘Anne of the Island’ it was a total Anne moment. But then I remembered that Anne of the Island covers the Roy Gardner year and quickly lost interest. That was not a good year for her.

In fact, the whole time we were in Eugene I kept up a running tally of ‘points’. Scary shirtless chubby biker guy lost them two points. The rose bushes gained them one. Boys my own age was a hard one to classify but I ended up putting them on the minus side. Distractions, you know. Girl lounging in the grass swearing loudly lost them one, the fact that I couldn’t find the theatre lost another. The trees were a plus, as was the campus itself. Big, but pretty. In the end I think we ended up at plus one. (Which isn’t much for $30,000 a year.)

After extensive wandering mom and I found a quiet part of campus and a shady bench. We looked at each other and went ‘this is a no, isn’t it?’ It’s a really pretty campus but it was so obvious that I am not supposed to be there next year. I was disapointed and incredibly frustrated. It would have been nice to do the normal thing for once in my life. Oh well. So we cried at each other, me with chin quivering, for about ten minutes. Then I gave her my best (unintentional) puppy dog eyes and said “Can we go home now?”

She said yes, so we headed for the highway. On our way out of town we saw a HUGE billboard. All that was on it was a tiny map of Oregon with a Nike swoosh on it. (Remember that they look like check marks.) In enormous letters it said, “Where dreams come true. Or not.” Mom and I just howled. Now you try and tell me that God doesn’t have a sense of humour.

I got to drive the last three hours in the pitch black through a Missouri-worthy lightning storm. I don’t think I’ve ever been that glad to be home.

So were back in no-man’s land. There is one day left in the countdown for finances for AADA, and I know that I’m not supposed to go to U of O. I wonder what God has in store now…?

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 06 2008
Jennifer James

Ok that dreams come true thing is pretty darn funny. I would have died! I feel for you that you were dissapointed, but hey, in no way should college be considered normal. After all, it’s often something people do because they can’t think of anything else.

If there is something I know to be true of you, you have the ability to think of lots of other things. I know God is going to bring just the right one, at the right time. I am praying for you!

1 07 2008
Alana

Praying for you sweet girl! He’s got something up His sleeve for you! If there is one thing I have learnt over the past few months, it’s that He knows so much better than we do what will be good for us… and not only that, but He delights in sending little kisses to our hearts! He knows what you will thrive in, and He’ll give you sweet kisses and presents along the way. Can’t wait to hear what happens in the next little while. Love you Meghan! xoxo.

1 07 2008
Mother Smith

Well it was an interesting day for sure!
Can’t wait to see what God has next for you. We’re looking at a clean slate for sure.
Mum

Leave a Reply

