The indignity of airports and the blessedness of snoozes

28 02 2008

For the past week or so I’ve started having more of my Moments. Those of you who are long-time readers of this blog might remember a post called Living a Life of Moments that I wrote almost a year ago. Well those moments have come and gone, but they started happening with increased frequency of late.

Last Monday on my way home from Kansas City I was standing in the security line at KCI airport and I was struck with a fit of giggles. The utter indignity of standing with ten other people in a public area without shoes on was hilarious. I got slant-wise looks from security gaurds and other passengers seemed entirely to have missed the obvious humour. Anyway, it made MY day.

A few months (weeks?) ago I was in my kitchen eating an apple when I found myself staring at it, chewing thoughtfully. Only God could have come up with apples, I thought to myself. It was an incredibly intense moment for some reason. Now it makes me smile to think how sincere I was about the whole thing.

This morning when I woke up from a blissful nine hours of sleep my face was hot and the rain was hitting my window. It was so cozy and lovely that I just lay there and enjoyed it for five solid minutes.

So far, it’s been a pretty good day.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 02 2008
Jennifer James

I’m glad it’s not a rageful day, like yesterday was for you.

I am so tired I can barely keep my eyes open, I envy your rain on the window moment.

28 02 2008
Meghan

Poor Jennifer. Sleeps you shall have when home you go from work.

This sentence brought to you by “Today’s Yoda Moment”

28 02 2008
Jennifer James

I am trying to get Aaron to get my fried chicken on the way home so I can eat it for dinner, in my sweats, on the couch, while he goes to a bachelor party.

I am so hungry. Is it time to eat again?

Leave a Reply

