So I’m on a movie kick…

24 01 2008

And demanding audience participation.

Plus, I’m at work and so cannot spare the time/brain cells to create a thoughtful commentary on life as I know it.  (Additionally, I who have no money seem to continue finding funds to purchase old movies… I think it might be a sickness.)

PLUS I really like you all, my readers, and want to know more about you.

Therefore, a posit yet another question:

If you heard that they were going to make a movie based on your favorite book, and they were offering you any part you wanted, what part would you take?

ie- If you could play your favorite fictional character in a movie, who would it be?

To make it more interesting- Give us the character of choice that is your gender, and the character of choice of the opposite gender.

Make sense?

Ok, ready….steady…ROCK!

Actions

Information

11 responses

25 01 2008
Jason Ericson

Sweet, this is an awesome question.

Well I’ve always wanted to play a villain, like a really crazy one…ha, you know who I’d want to play? Voldemort. Seriously. That sounds a bit disturbing considering you asked this question to “know more about us”, but Harry Potter is my favorite fictional book(s) ever, and I’ve always thought it would be fun to just let loose and play a really nasty character. Don’t know why.

As for a female character, haha, that’s actually easier for me. 😛 I’d be Ginny Weasley. She’s probably one of my favorite characters in fiction ever. I love her strength and her humor. I just connect with her somehow.

So there you go!

(Oh and I know this doesn’t count, but if I could play a character from an already-existing movie, I am, and always will be, Jack Sparrow. 😛 )

25 01 2008
sean

This is a great question

@jason: i just think it’s really hilarious that your jack sparrow!

As for my first character, it would have to be Martin Luther King Jr. He’s not in my favorite book, but it would just be really interesting to study his life, mannerisms ect. and try to portray him. As I thought of this, it struck me that there never has been a major film about his life…. Maybe…

Fictional character? Hmmm… I’d say Peter Pan, I mean the dude can fly, and travel between worlds! What else do you want.

And as far as the female character, I don’t read much fiction, so that’s hard. But I love Julia Roberts, so I would play her in a remake of Mona Lisa Smile

25 01 2008
Jennifer James

Movie based on my favorite book- Yikes, it’s doubly hard, because you are asking me to pic a favorite book, something I don’t know if it’s possible. Perhaps I would play Mercedes in the count of monte cristo? I think all the actresses get her wrong. I don’t think she’s as awesome as everyone thinks she is.

I’ll have to admit, it would be fun to play a villain. Trinity (if I have to tell you which movie she’s from, you’re fired.) has always been a favorite. But only from Matrix one, before she went all soft and squishy- emotional wise.

I do think it would be fun to play River Tam in some more Serenity/Firefly stuff, she’s a fun character, but I would have to get in better shape, so they better be able to afford me a cook, and a trainer.

To play a boy character- I would want to play…wow this one is making me think…. boy…playing a boy…. man, I’m at a loss. All I can think of is “who has big guns? (as in the actual weapon, not arm muscles…” and something sci fi -ish…. Meghan, help me out, I can’t come up with a good one!

25 01 2008
Jason Ericson

@Jennifer: Terminator? Jayne Cobb? Um…Robo Cop…?

25 01 2008
hilary

amusingly enough, when i read the first half of this post i immediately thought “LeMerle from Holy Fools!” and then i remember that that is a male part. and then i thought “Hannah from Queen’s Fool.” and then i couldnt decide and got so distracted by trying to decide that i didnt read the second half of your post!

SO.

male lead: leMerle from Holy Fools
female lead: Hannah from Queen’s Fool

funny how the names of the books are sort of similar…

25 01 2008
walkingintherain

This is awesome…

Jason- I totally agree with you about wanting to play a bad guy. I have a secret desire (and have had all my life) to do the same. Shall I now call you JackGinnyVold?

Sean- Gotta love Peter Pan. I am totally with you on that one.

Jennifer- I could see you as Mercedes and I agree that she’s completely wrong in almost every movie. (And I think you secretly want to be Riddick, or one of the dudes from the original Alien.)

Hilary- If only I knew which books those were! I miss your face, friend!

25 01 2008
Jason Ericson

I’d prefer to be called Ginnoldemarrow, but whatever works.

25 01 2008
walkingintherain

I think I could handle that…. Would it be possible to shorten it to “Vinack”?

25 01 2008
Jason Ericson

“Hi, my name’s Vinack, short for Ginnoldemarrow. I’m a villainous, red-haired pirate girl.”

25 01 2008
walkingintherain

“Nice to meet you. Will you now proceed to suck my soul out my nose, giggle at me awkardly then threaten to keel-haul me?”

25 01 2008
Aaron James

I think I would make a smashing Puddleglum. It’s not too late, they’ve got a ways to go before they make The Silver Chair. I’ll have to polish up on my Central London British accent.

Or maybe the voice on the animated version of “Watership Down.”

As for a girl part I would have to play a gangaly awkward part. Like the tall ugly step sister in Cinderella.

Leave a Reply

