Thanksgiving

21 11 2007

I realize it isn’t Thanksgiving in the States until tomorrow, but here in NZ we’re celebrating Turkey Day. There’s been a huge list of people (and the food they are bringing) hanging on the prayer room door this week. You can see people wander by (mostly girls) every now and again, purposefully casual as they scan the list looking for anticipated goodies.

We’re non-discriminatory around here. Everyone is welcome and can bring whatever they want/can afford. We have people bringing everything from mac and cheese to pecan pie to a turkey AND a chicken (that’d be me and Graham!).  All the bases are covered and everyone is invited.

And, contrary to standard American tradition, we’ll be spending half the day praying and the other half laboring over hot stoves in the NZ spring heat. It’s been WARM around here lately.

In honor of this most lovely of holidays (Christmas and my birthday the only things that beat it out) I would like to offer to the world my list of things I am thankful for.

First, my family- Dad and Mom are staunch supporters and consistent comedic relief. They remind me that life is both far more sober and far more joyful than I think. Jen and Aaron are my brothers-in-arms. They like the movies I like (Alien vs Predator: Requiem, anyone?) and think I’m pretty nifty. Which works out because I think that THEY are totally nifty.

Second, my friends- Stacie who has been a constant source of fun, inspiration and support. I cannot express my appreciation for her existance. Erin, who teaches me how to listen while I encourage her to talk and who is always so darned excited about things. Your joy and enthusiasm are a blessing. Jake, who never made me feel anything but loveable and loved, even through the jokes and my tragic attempt to run with him. Thanks for challenging my debating skills and introducing me to the wonder that is late-night drives to Starbucks. Hilary for being my sis, Jessica for bearing with me.

My future- Someone once said “You have no idea who you are” and I am so grateful for that! I look forward to discovering my destiny as I move forward in faith.

My God- It seems so trite to say that, and how can words express the incomperable? God is completely Other and I am humbled and grateful for that.

The men and women of the Armed Forces- I’ve just seens “Lions for Lambs” and am struck again with the heroes that we leave unrecognized. They are not heroes because they die, they are heroes because they are willing to die and even to be forgotten in order that we might live freely. I thank them with all my heart.

There are heaps of silly things that I am thankful for as well, but I will leave that for tomorrow’s post.

Happy Thanksgiving and God bless us, every one.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 11 2007
Father Smith

And a Happy Thanksgiving to you my dear.

Love Dad

21 11 2007
Jennifer James

Happy turkey day! Take pictures of your turkey and I will take pictures of mine and we will compare!

21 11 2007
Mother Smith

Happy Thanksgiving to you!!!!
Think this is one you’ll remember fondly for sure.
We have much to be thankful for and it is good to remember it and share it as well….
Love to you, Mum

21 11 2007
walkingintherain

Love you family! There will be much picture-taking. No worries.

Leave a Reply

