Bible Study for November

15 11 2007

bible-studywealthrichesblessing.doc

So I’ve been doing this bible study on the biblical concepts of wealth, riches (they’re different you know) and blessing. I realized that I didn’t know nearly as much about the biblical concepts of money management as I thought I did. So I went through the whole bible and looked up every instance of the words ‘wealth’ ‘blessing’ ‘bless’ ‘rich’ riches’. There were somewhere around 500 when I didn’t include synonyms and 1500 when I did.

Fifteen pages of notes later the overview is done. I spent some time in the prayer room this morning typing up and formatting the first two pages. It took ages (if someone knows a sneaky way of doing it I would appreciate it).

I put the link up there at the top in case you all are interested.

Now that the overview is done I am going back through and doing in depth studies on various people/things. The characters I’ll be studying are: Abraham, Jacob, Joseph, Achsah, Hannah, David, Solomon, Jabez, the widow with the mites, the unjust steward, Zacchaeus. The concepts for further study are: wealth vs. riches, Abrahamic covenant, work, obediance, stewardship, faith, communing with the Holy Spirit.

You can see why I’ve been spending hours on this every day and am nowhere near being finished.

Those of you who remember high school will get a kick out of the fact that I’ve used Henderson’s note-taking techniques and the ever-present flow chart.

So that’s what’s going on in the prayer room during devotionals.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 11 2007
daveandkarina

Bring it on – are you going to share the overview or is it personal?

15 11 2007
daveandkarina

oops just read the entire entry and saw that my answer is right in front of my nose – thanks. 🙂

15 11 2007
walkingintherain

That’s cool. As I get the rest of it typed up I’ll post it.

I love that you guys comment on my blog. It’s so happy!

Leave a Reply

