Hymns

5 11 2007

“Great is Thy faithfulness

Great is Thy faithfulness

Morning by morning new mercies I see

Great is Thy faithfulness

Lord unto me” – Great is Thy Faithfulness

 

On the subject of hymns I have not a great deal to say. I was raised in charismatic churches and the first hymn I remember singing was when I was probably fifteen.

 

However, being in the house of prayer where we worship eight hours a day has introduced me to quite a few of these wonderful songs.

 

There’s a lot of hope in them and a great deal of beautiful language. A thanks to Stacie for getting me hooked up with a few good CD’s worth of hymns before I left. You rock, Stacie!

 

“This is my Father’s world

And to my listening ears

All nature sings and round me rings

The music of the spheres…

 

This is my Father’s world. O let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong, God is the ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world: the battle is not done:
Jesus Who died shall be satisfied,
And earth and Heav’n be one.” –This is My Father’s World

 

Or one of my favorites:

 

“Teach me some melodious sonnet

Sung by flaming tongues above

Praise the mount I’m fixed upon it

Mount of Thy redeeming love”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

