Another Post on Meghan’s Favorite Subject

26 09 2007

I feel that I owe you all more than one post to make up for the dodgy internet of yester night. Since it is late and I’ve just spent the last while in the prayer room praying over something that I don’t even know what I’m praying over (how is that for a sentence?) I shall post some of my newly-gathered quotes. Most are on the subject of love, which is something that the Lord has really been instructing me in.

“To love anyone is to hope in him always. From the moment at which we begin to judge anyone, to limit our confidence in him, from the moment at which we identify [pigeon hole] him, and so reduce him to that, we cease to love him, and he ceases to be able to become better. We must dare to love in a world that does not know how to love.” –An unknown French priest

“And love is not a victory-march. It’s a cold and it’s a broken ‘hallelujah’.” – Hallelujah

“Love is a gift, not a reward for service. My gift to you is the power to love like that… you will not only love your Bridegroom with your whole heart, but you will also love other in the same way. When others try to praise you or draw attention to your life of sacrificial devotion, you will utterly despise it. Why? Because you live for love, not for the recognition or applause of man.” –­The Bride

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.” – 1 Corinthians 13.1-3

“The greater our love the fewer words we use… for genuine love does not know how to cast about for roundabout, complex argumentation, but becomes silent and achieves great things.” –El tercer abecedario (The Third Spirtual Alphabet) by Francis of Osuna

“And remember the truth that once was spoken: To love another person is to see the face of God.” – Les Miserables

What an incomparable thing Love is! And how rare are the people that understand and witness that Love! If I got to heaven and God said nothing to me but “Here is one who knew how to love” I should be perfectly content. There is no higher praise.  

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2007
seanhughley

Amen. I love quotes on love 🙂 I’ve been stewing on that first quote you posted a while back. It’s challenging, but filled with glory in that we have the opportunity to love people into becoming what they were created to be.

27 09 2007
walkingintherain

Isn’t that so crazy? There is power in that that is incredible!

Leave a Reply

