Meekness

19 09 2007

The Jews would not willingly tread upon the smallest piece of paper in their way, but took it up; for possibly, said they, the name of God may be upon it. Though there was a little superstition in this, yet truly there is nothing but good religion in it, if we apply it to man. Trample not on any; there may be some work of grace there, that thou knowest not of. The name of God may be written upon that soul thou treadest on; it may be a soul that Christ thought so much of as to give his precious blood for it; therefore, despise it not. – Coleridge

 

God is just re-working my heart in this area. How many times a day do I say or do things that are nothing other than ‘trampling on a soul’? Too many!

 

Aaron Walsh has started our six-week section on the Sermon on the Mount/Christ-likeness by teaching on the beatitudes. Incidentally, it’s the first time I remember every figuring out how to pronounce that word properly. Anyway, today was meekness. As Mike Bickle is wont to say “meekness is the magnet that attracts God” (or something to that effect, I haven’t got my notes so you IHOPers feel free to correct me).  Aaron has challenged us to find out practical ways to display meekness in our home life. He quoted King David, a man after God’s own heart, who said “I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way…I will walk within my house with a perfect heart” (Ps 101.2) Now, granted, David didn’t always get it right (cough cough) but at least he tried! We get so much farther by trying, even if we know that it is futile and we will never fully achieve perfection. Point being, Aaron says that it’s how we behave at home that he thinks we will be most judged on in the end. Because it’s at home where no-one sees and where we have the most opportunities to exhibit meekness and servanthood.

Now, after class Kate and I were totally fired up. We realized as we drove home, though, there is something of a problem with being a meek servant at Mayfair. That is, we live in a house where everyone is at least six-months ahead of us in living the Sermon on the Mount. We literally fight to do dishes at Mayfair. We sort of looked at one another and went “huh, what’re we going to do?” There was a long pause. “Maybe we should wash feet!” I suggested.

 

I don’t know why but we both absolutely lost it. We laughed all the rest of the way home. Mostly, I think, because we both really hate feet. Ha ha.

 

But yes, meekness is lovely. More than that, though, I’ve come to a place where I want to be very careful what I speak. If words carry the amount of power that scripture says that they do, we damn ourselves every day with simple, casual, offhand comments.

 

Yikes.

 

Plus, with the kinds of situations that have been coming up over the last few days I am wanting to walk on eggshells. It has become increasingly important to me that I not offend God, nor hurt any of His children nor damn myself with idle words. I am literally being confronted with serious life issues every day and sometimes several times a day, all originating with people back home. The distance makes it doubly hard because communication by writing is inherently crippled. 90% of communication is body-language and when one is 6,000 or 8,000 or 10,000 miles away the words you use become vital.

 

So the prayer for the coming weeks, months and years is that I “trample not on any…” I think if I can live that out it will be a splendid testimony of the Kingdom.

 

(Anybody else have the desire to stand up and go “So let it be written, so let it be done!” ?)

                                                                    

Actions

Information

10 responses

19 09 2007
Jennifer James

* giant gong sound*

Sounds like God is doing a total over haul on you. I will pray for you that the Holy Spirit would reveal the beatitudes to your heart, and give you extra grace to walk in them.

Pray the same for me.

*giant gong sound*

19 09 2007
Donna James

Okay—-anyone else uncomfortable??? Thanks Meghan! Donna

19 09 2007
Father Smith

Today I’m just missing your face! What the Lord is doing in your heart is most precious. I was praying for you today…thanking God for such a beautiful daughter:)

I will dance independently until your return…

Love Dad

19 09 2007
Jennifer James

I shall also dance. If we are all dancing independently together, it’s kind of a group thing, isn’t it!?

19 09 2007
Father Smith

I must go find my quote book I’ve something written down along this line………
Ah yes, here it is! I think about this often and remember there is a ‘divine call’ to everyone.
” There are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal.” C.S. Lewis The Weight of Glory.
And something the Lord has been showing Dad and I lately that ‘we are all broken’.It is easy to look at people with “mercy” remembering we are all weak/broken. Love, Mum

19 09 2007
Father Smith

Actually, the last post was from me, I didn’t feel like changing everything !!

19 09 2007
Jennifer James

That’s ok mom, we kinda guess when you say “dad and i”…

19 09 2007
Father Smith

To clarify…the last two “Father Smith” posts were from The Ever Lovely Mum Smith NOT the true “Father Smith”.

The true Father Smith

20 09 2007
walkingintherain

Got it.

20 09 2007
Jennifer James

Check!

Leave a Reply

