Tiny Doughnuts and Menengitis

26 07 2007

seattle-skyline_800x.jpg 

My day started out with “Oh golly. Must I REALLY get up?” Since my alarm clock and my pillow both failed, in their turns, to answer, I got my fanny out of bed.

A short while and a Starbucks order later, Mom and I were off to Seattle. You know you are grown up when you are the one who is driving on the big city adventure. The fact is that I know Seattle better than my mom and I actually enjoy driving there. She does not.

I had to go into Seattle because clinics don’t give Menengitis vaccines to people over 18. It’s a gyp and a pain and freaking expensive. To aleviate the pain we promised ourselves tiny doughnuts afterwards.

We sort of accidentally found a parking garage, before locating the Public Health Center which was our destination. But parking is a skill in Seattle and we weren’t going to count on finding anything better. So we parked, paid, handed the spare key over to the attendant and headed out. We’d been strolling along for about five minutes before mom thinks to ask “So, where are we going.”

“Oh, I don’t know,” I respond “I think the address was 21 something.”

Silence.

“You don’t know where it is?”

“Not really. But I know it wasn’t 20 or 22 or 23 so if we keep going this way we should get there.”

She rolled her eyes but aquiesced. I knew we’d find it and sure enough I was right. Granted, I was on the wrong side of the street but that’s just nit-picking. (And it was 2124 4th Ave.)

So we go in, figure out that we need the second floor and get into the elevator. Here’s where I knew we were in for something. The elevator sounded like a combination thumbscrew-deathtrap. Then we got OUT of the elevator.

If we could pause here for just a moment. Picture, in your head, what a public health center in a major city would feel like. Not what it looks like, mind, but what it feels like, especially in the spirit.

Yeah. That’s pretty much it.

I got some paperwork from the very nice staff and sat down to fill it out. There were two women in front of us, talking about I don’t even know what. I looked at mom and said “I feel like someone is sitting on me, right here,” pointing to my shoulders. “Just pray in tongues,” was her recomendation.

So we did.

And one of the women got called back.

The other one waited about three seconds, turned and glared at us, got up and went to the elevator. She turned again and shot back the most baleful look I’d ever seen just before she got on the elevator. Mom later remarked that there was something looking out of her face and it sure as heck wasn’t her. And she wasn’t the only one. The entire atmosphere was actually palpable. You could feel where it was ebbing and flowing. A young doctor came in and the whole section of the room lightened up. This sweet-faced guy kept asking nervous questions and you could feel the tension but it wasn’t oppressive. However, a few of those folks DEFINITLY had special friends. A morning of spiritual warfare always makes getting a shot less stressful…

Eventually they called me back and the nurse was wonderful. She printed out 18 pages of governmental and WHO info about New Zealand, shot me smartly in the arm with my vaccine, patted me on the head and sent us on our merry way. I watch too many sci-fi movies because when I got the shot I kept picturing the vaccine and green muck sliding around under my skin. Good times.

We paid and went to leave. The girl (the one with ‘special friends’) was back in the lobby by this time. I looked back at her and smiled and she smiled back. And this time it was her. Crazy!

After that we just HAD to have tiny doughnuts.

Another interjection- For those of you who aren’t aware, at the south end of Pike Place Market there is a stand that sells miniature doughnuts. They are about the size of a pool ball (but much more tasty). And come plain, powdered-sugared, cinnamon-sugared and frosted with sprinkles.

Figuring we might as well enjoy the day, we “did” the whole Market. We started at the North end, where I found a great b&w photo of Seattle to take with me to NZ. I wanted a picture of this, my favorite city, to have with me halfway around the world. By the time we got to the fish-throwers and pig the SeaFair pirates had shown up.

The SeaFair pirates are a group of perhaps 14 guys who dress up as pirates and wander around Seattle during SeaFair. Their outfits (and hair) are worthy of any Hollywood blockbuster and they’re a smash with tourists and Seattleites alike. They drive around in a boat with wheels called the Moby Duck and throw coins at the kiddies. Always up for a few photos or some mild harrasment they were certainly the highlight of the day.

There was lunch at the Three Sisters, good-natured ribbing from the fruit-sellers and loads of Moments. It was sunny and beautiful and I enjoyed myself immensely.

I wonder how you get to be a SeaFair pirate….?

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 07 2007
Jennifer James

Snifflling. I wish I had been there for all of it. Maybe we could have gotten some prophetic words for people in the health clinic? I would have liked tiny doughnuts with sprinkles and frosting. Any word on bribing the cute fish throwing boys at the market out of a flying fish sweatshirt?
I can not WAIT to come and visit. You should write about your days more often, this post cracked me up.

26 07 2007
walkingintherain

AND I had to leave a bunch out because my shot made me ever-so-slightly loopy. I was having trouble sitting upright.

Maybe we can go early to the ferry on Sunday or whatever and run up to Pike Place super fast. We could do that, right?

26 07 2007
Jennifer James

But…what.. what about breakfast sammiches on the ferry?
It’s ok, we had doughnuts last time.

Leave a Reply

