Pacem Amo

13 07 2007

Pacem AmoPacem Amo.jpeg

I have had major artist’s block for about the last six months. It seems that it is all too easy to shut down our creative selves when we are busy. At least, that’s the only explanation that presents itself. I’ve been on a mission this last half-year that allowed little time for self expression. Anyway, I finally broke through it!

I had done this full sketch and was talking about it to a friend. I told him how it was inspired by the inevitability of war amongst human beings.  He paused and murmered “Pacem Amo”. Not being up on my latin I asked him to translate. He told me that it is a Scottish motto that means “I love peace”.  It was like he had poured gasoline on my smallish flame of creativity. The whole painting just took off.

Symbolism explained…

Center figure- War

Surrounding figures- War and hatred are both blind, deaf and dumb. That’s why it’s so hard to stop conflict once it begins

Shield motto- “I love peace”

Shield device- An old Scottish family crest

Shield crack- Peace cannot remain whole where war dominates

I don’t have a picture of the finished painting. I gave it away soon after it was completed. Point being, to be able to paint again after so long was the most wonderful feeling in the world.

Additionally, people seem surprised that I would create something so macabre… Allow me to remind you that the dead army and the mouth of Sauron were my favorite parts of Lord of the Rings.  Painting flowers and fairies got old when I turned 16 and it’s hard to express the sorrow of a broken world if all you paint are daisies and dragons.

Much Love.

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 07 2007
sean

Glad you found the artisan within again

16 07 2007
Jennifer James

I suppose this is a bad time to mention I was hoping to abscond with some painting stuff (for the acrylics) when I am home? I am desperate to paint and can’t afford any of the basics (good brushes or decent paint.)

I love how good an artist you are. I always tell people who like my stuff that they should see yours, and how you make me look like an ferret with a brain injury…. You should post more of your stuff!

16 07 2007
walkingintherain

I will post more when there is more to post. I sat down to paint last night and one of my friends called with a crisis. I ended up taking a two and a half hour walk around the neighborhood instead of painting.

People are more important than painting, right? Right.

16 07 2007
Jennifer James

DEpends on how much money you are making at painting.

18 07 2007
walkingintherain

An excellent point. The next day I got the same friend miffed at me because I DID choose to stay home and paint. I guess you can’t win them all.

Leave a Reply

